About Cylons OR Why I Haven’t Seen Battlestar Galactica Yet

Josh from Spiritual Musclehead told readers of that blog of his that you should ask me about Cylons. Well, to anyone who clicked on his link to here to learn about Cylons, well…

I haven’t actually SEEN Battlestar Galactica yet. Both the original short-lived ’70s show and the much more acclaimed ’00s remake have just somehow skipped my cultural radar.

But I DO know that Cylons are 2 different things in the 2 different shows. In the original, they’re just big, shiny, somewhat-fake-looking-but-in-that-cool-’70s-way robots.

In the newer one, the Cylons are built in human form and are thus able to infiltrate the enemy. So it’s kinda like the Pretenders from Transformers if you think about it.

So yeah, that’s about all I know about Cylons. You want more, look at this Wiki. And yes, in case you were wondering, there is in fact a Wiki for everything.

I guess the main reason I haven’t watched the show yet is cause it just doesn’t seem all that special to me. I mean, let’s look at the new show, for instance. Let’s see, people exploring space in a post-apocalyptic future? Seen that. Enemy robots infiltrating the humans in unsuspecting ways? They did that in Transformers 2 for crying out loud. And yes, I’m actually giving credit to Transformers 2 for something.

I don’t know, I guess the bottom line is, I just haven’t made time to see it because it doesn’t seem worth it to me. For science fiction, and especially a science fiction franchise, to interest me, it has to be grabbing and exciting in a new way and present something from an angle I never thought of before.

I’ll give you an example. Part of the reason the Borg from Star Trek: The Next Generation terrified me and captivated me so much is their mission: they’re not like the Cybermen, who replaced their human bodies with cybernetic parts in order to survive. They’re ruthless predators who are out to make everyone in the universe part of their Collective. That’s interesting, unique, and speaks volumes at a variety of different levels.

Now, that’s not saying I won’t check it out eventually or that all my facts are correct. If anything, I’ll probably watch the ’00s remake first as it appears to have good special effects, pretty good acting, and was created and overseen by Ronald D. Moore, who’s one of my favorite TV writers due to his work on TNG.

But for now, I’m content to just let it slide.

Leave a Reply

