Meant to post my thoughts on the Avengers as a comic book franchise and my history with them, but WordPress deleted it. There will be a review of the movie later tonight, but for now, this!

Hero Complex - movies, comics, pop culture - Los Angeles Times

[lat-gallery]

Surrounded by a Norse god, a super soldier, a deadly spy, a brilliant scientist who can become an 8-foot-tall rage monster, and, well, Tony Stark, it might have been easy for Cobie Smulders to get lost in the muscle-clad crowd.

But the 30-year-old Canadian actress who plays S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Maria Hill in the record-breaking blockbuster “The Avengers” made it her mission to create a space for her character among Marvel’s A-listers, which, of course, include Chris Hemsworth’s Thor, Chris Evans’ Captain America and Robert Downey Jr.’s Iron Man.

“I feel like I was able to hold my own quite well,” Smulders said, sitting down for an interview on a recent morning. “That was really important to me, because I was quite intimidated…. Not only is it a different genre for me, but it’s with some of the most talented actors in Hollywood.”

“The Avengers” isn’t Smulders’ first role in…

View original post 1,011 more words

Leave a Reply

