What I Did This Memorial Day

Hello folks! I’m back! And before I tell you about my day, let me just take a moment to say 2 things.

1st. Big shoutout to my buddy Mike, who’s in the Navy, and all others serving or who have served in our anime forces. You guys are truly awesome.

2nd. From now on, this blog will be REGULARLY updating 3 times a week: Monday, Wednesday, Friday. Yes, it’s an easy model, but I figure it’s one that works with my schedule, especially seeing as how I just got a new job.

Right then, down to business.

I spent most of today indoors, not because of some hatred of the sun, but because it was BOILING today, as I’m sure many of you have noticed. SO I spent most of today inside, doing anime-related activities.

Anime, or Japanese animation, is quite popular amongst members of the Nerd tribes, and I am no exception. I’m lucky to have grown up with the WONDERFUL block of programming known as Toonami (which came back! thoughts on that soon) so I’ve been exposed to it ever since I was little. Yet, it wasn’t until this past year, when I joined my college’s anime club, that I began taking the medium seriously.

So now I’m making up for lost time by watching a show that many consider a modern-day classic, FullMetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. I’ll have a review of the first volume soon, but for now, let me say it is a compelling show with great animation, a unique story and characters and some good voice acting.

I watched 5 episodes of that today, then spent the majority of the night assembling this model kit my friend bought me at a anime convention recently. It was snap-together, so the job wasn’t too rough.

But the arms just kept giving me trouble. First, it was just getting the parts to stay together. Then, it was realizing that they wouldn’t connect to the arm pegs, resulting in me having to take them completely apart. Then, after about 40-ish minutes of wrestling with getting them back on, giving up, calling my friend, talking to him for an hour, then coming back to it, I realized the backs of the arms (the back being below the back shoulder plate) were switched around.

All the stickers are applied but one, but I’m not worried about that now. So, all in all, pretty good Memorial Day, I think.

Leave a Reply

