The Summer of Sherlock!

Y’know, over the past few weeks, I’ve learned to love my day job. The biggest reinforcement of this, however, came on Tuesday night.

After having a work appointment with my neighbors, whose house I had never been in before, I got to talking with them and it turned out that the wife was a Sherlockian not so long ago.

A Sherlockian, if you can’t figure it out, is the term for a fan of Sherlock Holmes. If you don’t know who Sherlock Holmes is, go away, you strange alien lifeform.

Anyway, I’ve become a bit of a recent Sherlockian myself, with a big part of that owing to the BBC’s Sherlock program, which, believe you me, I’ll post about soon.

We talked Holmes for a while, then my neighbor did the most…well…neighborly thing you can imagine. She just up and GAVE me 5 Holmes books! How cool is that?

I’ve been delving into the first one, this Reader’s Digest edition of A Study in Scarlet & The Hound of the Baskervilles, 2 of the 4 original Holmes novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. And I got to thinking, “Well, if I’m going to be reading all these books in a row, why don’t I post reviews?” So that’s what I’m doing!

Yup, we have a recurring feature on this here blog. So until then, stay put and enjoy this drawing of Holmes by original story illustrator Sidney Paget:

Leave a Reply

