Thanks, Old Friend

It’s still Wednesday in some parts of the world, and while I’m back in school and things are crazy, I thought I’d take a moment to acknowledge something special.

Today is the 20th anniversary of the premiere of Batman: The Animated Series (thanks to Moviebob for pointing that out) and I realized something.

This cartoon–this brilliant, dynamic, suspenseful, revolutionary cartoon–is only 2 months older than me. I remember watching it not on FOX Kids where it initially aired in America, but on Cartoon Network a few years later.

This show rocked my little-kid socks off, and its brilliant storytelling, wonderful acting, amazing design and GREAT music helped turn me into a lover of animation and cemented my lifelong affection for superheroes. Heck, if I wanted to, I could probably go on for hours about the writing alone. Heck, maybe watching brilliant stories like that is what MADE me want to write.

I don’t know if that’s true, but I do know I owe this show a tremendous debt of gratitude. So thanks, Bruce Timm & company. And thank you, Batman.

Leave a Reply

