Wednesday with fun.

So the reason there was no Wednesday post is because I was too busy seeing one of the top bands of the moment, fun. at Calvin College–where I go–in the Van Noord Arena last night.

If you’re like me, you’re probably so sick of hearing this song on the radio every 5 minutes. And this one every 10 minutes. I tend to skip past whenever I hear them, but if I have to, I’ll leave it on.

I’ll say this for the three-piece known as fun. (Yes, the period is part of the name.) They know what pop music used to be. They remember the days of Queen, The Rolling Stones, The Replacements and the glory days of power pop, and they fuse that through a post-Panic! At The Disco and Kanye West sensibility. They’re unapologetically earnest and real and it’s a very admirable thing.

Also, they put on a HELL of a live show. It was the biggest show I’ve ever been to and certainly the loudest. I mean, we’re talking columns of speakers here. It was nuts.

The opening band, some indie group called Miniature Tigers, were pretty good, although I’m guessing the sound was mixed more towards fun. rather than their particular jangly guitar-rock type sound. It was a bit of a shame that they sounded washed out because otherwise, they were quite good.

fun. of course, if you haven’t figured it out by now, was pretty phenomenal. The 3 members plus their touring band worked in perfect sequence with the lights and the crowd to make things thrilling. That Stones comparison is somewhat appropriate both because singer Nate Reuss kinda looks like a young Jagger and embodies that cocksure strut and the band actually covered “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” with a trumpet and everything. It was pretty damn awesome.

Bottom line: I’m still not totally on board with fun., I’m not a super fan, but I’m more impressed by them than ever and it’s awesome that there’s a band like them around in this age of Katy Perrys. If you want to read a more detailed review of the concert, go read Jon’s post over at Memoirs of a Culture Stalker. Bye now!

Leave a Reply

