Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Review)

Hey everybody,

Very, VERY sorry I just sort of shut down without explanation. The best couple weeks were pretty nuts: I had to finish the class I was taking over the summer, move into an apartment, and start probably my hardest semester ever seemingly all at once.

That aside, my not even announcing my absence was unprofessional and I’m sorry. So, here’s what I’m gonna do: this weekend, I’m attending the first-ever Grandcon, a new comics and tabletop gaming convention that’s literally 5 minutes away from where I live. Like I did way back when I covered the Festival of Faith & Writing, I’m going to be covering each day of the con and what I did. Then, we’ll get back into the normal swing of things, which means yes, Star Trek Saturdays will start again (and with an iconic episode)!

Here, then, to tide you over, is what I thought of Fox’s new comedy that premiered last night, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, which stars SNL & The Lonely Island’s Andy Samberg as Detective Jake Peralta, a smart but goofy detective in Brooklyn’s 99th Precinct and Andre Braugher as his new Captain, Ray Holt, who, among other things, decides to straighten him out.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine

The show comes from Parks & Recreation co-creator Michael Schur and while I don’t watch that show, the critical buzz for this suggests a lot about Parks: its premise never forgets to be funny, but also proves to you that these are cops solving crimes; the familiar leading actor is what draws you to it, but the supporting cast is what keeps you entertained. The cast here is very funny, by the way–Joe Lo Troglio and Terry Crews as a fumbing oaf and a nervous wreck are two standouts, but the rest are all really fun too. Most importantly, the writing seems plenty sharp; when the jokes land, they land.

The debut episode is available on Hulu right now if you missed it last night. I enjoyed it; I think I’ll stick with it. Let me know what you think and I’ll see you on Friday for Grandcon!

Leave a Reply

