Of Batman and Captain America

Beware-the-BM-1_uw76ywt5af_

I’ve talked about how much I like Beware The Batman before and, given that it’s on hiatus as of this writing reportedly until January, I’ll probably be doing that again sometime soon.

But to tide us over, DC has released a tie-in comic, the first issue of which came out this week and which I reviewed over at Drunk On Comics. SO go read that.

As with last time, there was stuff I left out of the review, mainly my one big quibble with the issue. In the opening pages, Katana is wielding the Soultaker Sword, a powerful weapon that does, well, exactly what it sounds like. But (slight spoiler here) that sword is stolen from Katana during the course of the show. I’m not fully caught up, I realize, but I don’t think she’d get it back so soon. That, coupled with the now-jailed Simon Stagg being out and about, the timing of this is really odd. Best not to think about it too much.

Anyway, the other big nerd news from this week? The trailer for Captain America: The Winter Soldier finally landed, and it. Looks. AWESOME.

Seriously, how cool does this look? I like that, with the Avengers being an occasional team in the Marvel Cinematic Universe rather than a permanent one, they chose to focus on the super-spy/S.H.I.E.L.D. stuff that also makes up a huge part of Cap’s story.

Also, I would bet pretty heavily on at least two people from Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.–which, if you aren’t watching, you should be–making an appearance. Because synergy.

I can’t emphasize how much I’m looking forward to this; between now and then, I’m gonna look up and read a whole lot of Captain America comics.

Leave a Reply

