Exciting Things!

Hey guys, sorry there’s been quite a bit of downtime here. Things are getting a bit nuts school-wise (new semester and all that) and I’m going to try actively harder to plan out posts ahead of time.

In the meantime, here’s some exciting things that have happened or will happen:

  1. Two days ago, I received confirmation that a piece of writing I’m very proud of and had sent out for consideration will be published soon. More details on when and where as they arise!
  2. I replaced my cellphone’s battery. This comes after switching to a smartphone over a year ago and having to replace it over the summer due to a crushed internal microphone, My new battery arrived last night and I got it for under $9. Now I don’t have to deal with nonsense like my phone randomly dying after ten minutes of operation or giving out in the middle of a call. Yay!
  3. One show I don’t think I’ve ever talked about here is the anime Tiger & Bunny. It’s a dang shame I haven’t because that show–a 25-episode anime about superheroes with corporate sponsoring who star on a reality TV show that’s totally free on Hulu— is really, REALLY good. So good, in fact, that I filled out a survey by the show’s North American distributor and dubber, Viz Media (the guys who brought Bleach and Naruto over here), to help bring the series’ upcoming sequel film, Tiger & Bunny: The Rising to American theatres for a special screening. And they are! The film’s coming out here in Michigan March 15, and given that the theatre is two hours away, I’m making a day of it with a whole bunch of people. I’m hoping to rewatch the series subbed (as the film will be, given it’s being released in Japan at the end of this month) before I see the film and I intend to blog about it, so you might want to check that for context before you read my review of the film. Still: anime in a movie theater! Yay!
  4. Beck, one of my genuine creative role models and one of my favorite musicians, if not my favorite, of all time, is finally releasing a new record at the end of the month. Morning Phase, due out on the 25th of this month, is his first album for Capitol Records, his first record in six years since the Danger Mouse-produced Modern Guilt, and is apparently a companion to his astonishing, heartbreaking classic record Sea Change but with a friendlier, more ’70s California sound. Add in this revealing NPR interview and the songs he’s released from it so far, and I’m pumped.
  5. Speaking of Danger Mouse, the guy behind Gnarls Barkley, and easily my favorite record producer, has been called up to the big leagues and has been working (for some time now) on U2’s latest album. No really, the dude who made The Grey Album is now producing for U2. Crazy, huh? Well, a new single, “Invisible,” was premiered during the Super Bowl and made free on iTunes for 24 hours as part of a fund0raising effort by Bank of America and Bono’s own RED foundation. I downloaded it and…it’s pretty good. It’s nice that Danger Mouse found a way to work in his traditional production trappings into the basic U2 mold.

That’s a lot of exciting stuff, huh? Well, tune in tomorrow and Saturday for even more, when I have a review of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and a new Star Trek Saturdays, respectively. See you then!

Leave a Reply

