Adventures in Reporting

So this semester of school, I’m taking a Feature Journalism class. Our first assignment was to find a “place” and find a good angle on it.

Because I am who I am, I decided to write about this great comic shop in downtown Grand Rapids, Vault of Midnight. I went down there this past Saturday, interviewed the employees and store customers, talked with the store’s other co-owner over the phone on Sunday, and wrote the whole thing up in about six hours.

That’d be productive enough, but an additional part of the assignment was that we had to find a publication we thought would be suitable for the piece. I chose The Rapidian, a local newspaper with a volunteer reporting staff that engages in the wider Grand Rapids community. I contacted them about the story, they were interested and they walked me through the steps necessary to get my story up. The piece ran last night, so here you go.

I hope you like reading it as much as I did writing it. My thanks to everyone I talked to as well as my editor, Kolene Allen, for helping me bring this story to everyone. I plan on doing more stories for The Rapidian in the future.

This is also the 200th post here, so WOOO!

Leave a Reply

