One Small Step

Sorry for no post on Friday, but I moved back up to college on Saturday and a lot of crazy packing and errand running was required. But while I was moving in, something monumental happened.

Neil Armstrong, the first man on the moon, died on Saturday at the age of 82.

Neil Armstrong. Credit: The Register

 

Think about that. The man who stepped onto the surface of the moon, fulfilling thousands of years’ worth of collective dreaming on the part of humanity, is dead. To his credit, Armstrong always downplayed his accomplishment, saying in a rare public appearance a few years ago, according to the BBC, “I am, and ever will be, a white-socks, pocket-protector, nerdy engineer,”

Well, you know what, Mr. Nerdy Engineer? You’re the reason we’re where we’re at today. Our fast paced technology, our modern life and conveniences, our new discoveries in science being made everyday: it’s all from you and your example.

So thank you, Mr. Armstrong. For everything.

One comment on “One Small Step

  1. […] on Monday, I posted my thoughts on the passing of Neil Armstrong. When I found out he had died, that got me […]

Leave a comment